Back to Learn

    Lovable Mobile App: What the Phone App Does, and How to Put Your Own Lovable App on a Phone

    Since 27 April 2026 the phrase means two things. One is the Lovable app you install on a phone to build with; the other is the question people were asking before it existed, whether an app built in Lovable can run on a phone. This page answers both from Lovable's docs and the store listing, read the day of writing, then runs the documented PWA path on our own test project and reports what it cost and what it shipped.

    Updated

    Lovable mobile app hero: the guide title beside a checklist card, the Lovable app needs iOS 16.4 or Android 9 and shares credits, it builds from your phone but does not ship native, path A is a PWA with manifest, service worker and Add to Home Screen, path B wraps the published app with Capacitor, Capacitor native plugins do not run in Lovable, we ran the PWA prompt

    What does the Lovable app for phones do, and what can it not do?

    It builds. Lovable's mobile app page, read 26 September 2026, lists what you can do: “start something new, continue an existing project in its project chat”, “chat with Lovable outside a project”, “prompt with voice or images”, “get notified when a build is ready to review”, and “switch between drafts, create one, and rename, update, accept, or delete a draft”. The launch post of 27 April 2026 opens with the pitch: “Queue prompts on the go. Ideas rarely arrive one at a time.” The line that matters for account holders: “Lovable on mobile shares the same account, projects, and credits as the web app.”

    The Lovable app for phones, from the docs page and the App Store listing, read 26 September 2026
     From the docsFrom the App Store listing
    PlatformsiPhone and iPad. iOS 15 or later; Phones and tablets. Android 9 or lateriOS 16.4 or later; iPhone and iPad
    PublisherLovableLovable Labs Incorporated
    Version and sizeNot stated1.2.0, 71.4 MB
    RatingNot stated4.8 out of 5, 2,000 ratings; age 16+
    PriceSame account and credits as the web appFree with In-App Purchases
    CannotCreating a new account; Connect OAuth integrations (Slack, GitHub, Google Drive, Airtable); Use the preview toolbar or inline comments; Access folders or organize projects by folder; Export workspace membersNot stated
    OfflineLovable requires an active internet connectionNot stated

    The two official sources disagree on the iOS floor: the docs say “iPhone and iPad. iOS 15 or later”, the listing says “iOS 16.4 or later”. The listing is what the store enforces. The Play listing carries the Android build.

    The changelog since then is small and specific: 2 Sep 2026, get the Lovable mobile app from Account settings; 25 Aug 2026, audit logs record which app each action came from: Web, Desktop app, iOS app, or Android app; 17 Aug 2026, copy a project link in the mobile and desktop apps. None of it changes the boundary the publish FAQ draws: “The separate Lovable mobile app is for building projects from your phone.”

    Can an app built in Lovable run on a phone?

    As a web app, yes; as a native binary, only through a wrapper you build outside Lovable. The FAQ: “Lovable builds web applications, and you can design them to be fully mobile friendly.” The publish page: “Lovable does not generate projects in React Native, a developer framework for building native mobile apps.” It then names the two paths.

    The two documented ways to put a Lovable-built app on a phone, quoted from the publish FAQ, 26 September 2026
     Progressive Web AppCapacitor wrapper
    Docs' descriptionProgressive Web App (PWA): make your published app installable so users can "Add to Home Screen" and launch it like a native app, with offline support and a full-screen shell.Capacitor wrapper: wrap your published URL in a native shell with Capacitor outside of Lovable, then submit that shell to the App Store or Play Store.
    WhenThis is the fastest path and works from any modern mobile browser.This is the right path when you need access to native device APIs (camera, push notifications, biometrics, etc.) or when a store requires a "real" native binary.
    Built whereInside Lovable, by promptOutside Lovable, around the published URL
    Store listingNo; installed from the browserYes; you submit the shell
    Native APIsWhat the browser exposesThrough the shell's plugins, which run in the shell, not in the Lovable build

    The trap on the second path is on the npm-packages page: “Packages built for other environments, such as Electron (desktop apps) or Capacitor native plugins (mobile apps), install without errors but do not work in your published app.” Asking Lovable to add a camera plugin produces a build that compiles and does nothing on the phone. The plugin belongs in the wrapper project.

    What did the PWA path produce on our test project?

    We sent one message to the SaaS project built earlier on 26 September 2026 for the prompt examples page:

    Make this app installable on a phone as a Progressive Web App: web app manifest with name, icons, theme colour and standalone display, a service worker that caches the app shell so the sign-in page opens offline, and the Add to Home Screen prompt on the landing page. Do not change any feature, table or policy. Then tell me exactly which files you added or changed.
    Lovable's chat after the PWA prompt on the Cadence test project, listing the files it added and changed beside the app preview
    Lovable's answer to the PWA prompt on the Cadence test project, 26 September 2026.

    Lovable's own summary: "Cadence is now installable as a phone app with offline support. No features, tables, or policies were touched. One caveat: offline mode only works in the published app, the preview deliberately never caches, so you always see the latest version here." It generated an app icon first, then wired the plugin. The choice it made without being asked, registering the service worker only in the published app with a ?sw=off escape hatch, is the one a developer would make after being bitten by a stale preview.

    Files Lovable reported adding and changing, from its answer
     Files
    Addedpublic/manifest.webmanifest; public/pwa-192.png, public/pwa-512.png, public/apple-touch-icon.png, public/favicon.png; src/assets/app-icon.png; src/lib/pwa-register.ts; src/components/InstallPrompt.tsx; src/vite-pwa.d.ts
    Changedvite.config.ts (vite-plugin-pwa generates /sw.js; network-first); src/routes/__root.tsx (manifest, theme colour, icon links, registration); src/routes/index.tsx (install button); public/favicon.ico (deleted); package.json and lockfile (vite-plugin-pwa); AGENTS.md
    The Cadence preview after the PWA run: the landing page with a new Add to Home Screen button beside Create your workspace and I already have an account
    The preview after the run, 26 September 2026: the install button is there, and the head carries the manifest, theme colour and Apple icon.
    What we checked in the output, 26 September 2026
     Result
    Manifest at /manifest.webmanifest200, application/manifest+json; name, short_name, start_url, scope, display standalone, orientation portrait, theme #0F172A, 192 and 512 icons plus a maskable 512
    Head tags in the preview DOMlink rel=manifest, meta theme-color #0F172A, link rel=apple-touch-icon all present
    Icons/pwa-192.png, /pwa-512.png, /apple-touch-icon.png return 200 image/png (signed in; the preview returns 401 to anonymous requests)
    Service worker file/sw.js returns 200 text/javascript
    Service worker registered in the preview0 registrations, as the chat said: registration is gated to the published app
    Install button on the landing page"Add to Home Screen" button rendered beside the two existing CTAs
    Offline sign-inNot verified: it needs the published app on a device, which we did not do

    Cost, read from the billing page: 60.0 credits before, 56.9 after, 3.1 for the run. The credits guide puts that next to the other runs we have measured.

    Which path should you take?

    Choosing between the two paths
    1Need astore listing?2Need nativeAPIs?3Both yesCapacitor shell4Pluginsin the shell5Lovable sidestays a web app
    1. Need a store listing?: no: PWA
    2. Need native APIs?: no: PWA
    3. Both yes: Capacitor shell
    4. Plugins: in the shell
    5. Lovable side: stays a web app

    Derived from the publish FAQ and the npm-packages page, read 26 September 2026.

    Most Lovable apps are dashboards, forms and lists that a browser already handles. The PWA path costs one prompt and no store review; the wrapper path costs a second project, a developer account per store and review cycles, and buys camera, biometrics and push. Decide on the API list, not on the word native.

    What do the top results for this term leave out?

    • Lovable docs, Lovable mobile app. The primary source for the phone app: what it does, what it cannot, requirements.
    • Seahawk Media, Can Lovable Build Mobile Apps?. About 2,900 words, published 22 April 2026, five days before the Lovable app existed. Recommends a third-party wrapper service; mentions PWA zero times and Capacitor once; no run.
    • App Store and Google Play listings. Version, size, rating and the iOS requirement, which differs from the docs page.

    What we did not publish

    • A run of the Lovable phone app itself. We could not install it in this session, so everything about it is quoted, not tested.
    • A Capacitor build. It is a separate native project with its own toolchain, and we have not shipped one from a Lovable app.
    • An install on a physical phone. The PWA output was checked in the signed-in preview, not in the published app on a device, so the offline claim is Lovable's, not ours.

    Sources

    All read on 26 September 2026. Quotes in src/data/lovableMobile.ts; the run in src/data/lovableMobileRun.ts.

    Frequently asked

    Is there a Lovable mobile app?↓
    Yes, since 27 April 2026, for iOS and Android. Per Lovable's docs on 26 September 2026 it shares the same account, projects and credits as the web app, and lets you start a project, continue a project chat, chat outside a project, prompt with voice or images, and get notified when a build is ready. It cannot create a new account, connect OAuth integrations, or use the preview toolbar and inline comments, and it needs an internet connection.
    Can Lovable build a native iOS or Android app?↓
    Not directly. The docs say Lovable builds web applications and does not generate React Native projects. Two paths put a Lovable app on a phone: a Progressive Web App, which the docs call the fastest path and which users add to their home screen, or a Capacitor wrapper built outside Lovable around your published URL and submitted to the stores, which the docs recommend when you need native device APIs or a store requires a native binary.
    Does the Lovable mobile app turn my project into a phone app?↓
    No. The publish FAQ says it plainly: the separate Lovable mobile app is for building projects from your phone. Shipping your own app to users' phones is the PWA or Capacitor question, not the app-download question.
    Do Capacitor plugins work in a Lovable project?↓
    The npm-packages page says packages built for other environments, such as Electron or Capacitor native plugins, install without errors but do not work in your published app. Capacitor itself is used outside Lovable as a wrapper around the published URL; the native plugin code runs in that shell, not in the Lovable build.
    What does the PWA path cost in Lovable credits?↓
    On our SaaS test project on 26 September 2026 the prompt on this page was one message. The credit figure, the files Lovable changed, and what the published output contained are all on this page, read from the billing page and the project the same day.
    Which iOS version does the Lovable app need?↓
    The docs page says iOS 15 or later; the App Store listing, read the same day, says iOS 16.4 or later for version 1.2.0. When two official sources disagree, the store listing governs what installs. Android is 9 or later per the docs.

    Related reading

    Written by

    Marco Kohns

    Marco Kohns

    Founder of ProtoBites - Venture Growth Studio

    Growth PM at a Silicon Valley scale-up (a16z and General Catalyst backed), ex-Techstars where he consulted 13 early-stage startups, Reforge-trained. Every prompt on this site comes out of shipping ProtoBites' own portfolio products.